exterior paint

Share experience regarding ownership of property and/or living in Portugal.
shaz1967
CVO Senior
CVO Senior

exterior paint

Post by shaz1967 »

hello fellow members.
I am pondering on which brand of paint to use for my external garden wall & also where to buy it from? I have been told to use CIN & buy it from the CIN shop at Fatacil & also been told to use Roblec or Robolec as that is good paint & theres a place in Sesmaris that sells & also been told that Sulcav at Fatical sell good exterior paint.
I am a great believer of buying good paint & I always use Dulux or Crown back in the UK but I have little knowledge about the brands etc in Portugal & any advice will be really appreciated.
superbocker
CVO Senior
CVO Senior

Re: exterior paint

Post by superbocker »

CIN is good paint. It is used on all external walls at Clube Golfemar. I use it on interior walls also. Easily equivalent to Dulux
maccasa
CVO Legend
CVO Legend

Post by maccasa »

I've got to do my external garden wall (100m long) and the back one by the pool - both are very large areas and the paint is going to cost a fortune buying Cin or Barbot. Ive done a calculation and it is going to be cheaper to buy Sandtex in UK - online - and ship direct to Algarve removals and they and ship it out to me.
alf1956
CVO Master
CVO Master

Post by alf1956 »

hI maccasa, I was thinking of buying in the UK & shipping over as paint does seem very expensive over here, I was a bit dubious if the UK paint would stand up to the weather here but a pro painter/decorator stated on another forum that the good quality exterior paint from the UK will stand up to th job but good prep is very important.
alf1956
CVO Master
CVO Master

Post by alf1956 »